blackempowerment
empowering others and making people aware of wrongs

Black History Month

 

I’ve been meaning to start a blog for awhile, and with Black History Month quickly approaching, There is no better time to proceed.  This Month I launched a Facebook campaign, called Black History: Lets make History.  The whole point of the campaign is to get people to post about Black Leaders everyday during the month of February.   But really it’s more than that.  SomePeople arent taking it very seriously.  Its more than just celebrating February.  This about getting Black people and all people really to start learning about their leaders on a regular basis.

As a college student I know how easy it for us to only research things when we have too, but I want us to learn because we want too.  The state of Black America is Devastating.  Black People (men especially) are spilling out of the Penal system, dropping out of High School, Disappearing from college campuses, and Filling the Abortion Clinics’ Dumpster with our fetuses.  Black men between the ages of 16 and 24 are more likely to die or go to jail than they are to go to college.  Black women are leading in all New HIV cases, So if you believe I am radical, delusional, or simply another Black college student going through a phase, I will prove differently.

We have got to stop killing ourselves, and we cant allow the “White” man (and i mean any oppressive figure not racially white) to poison our minds.  Why has it become cool for us to grow up in the ghetto, for young girls to have babies attached to their hips, and boys to get shot at or locked up?

I am learning about Us.  I am learning about our struggle.  And I am learning how to fix it.  I figure voicing my opinion is the first start, so that is what i will do.  My dream for us is to empower each other, and to stop tearing each other down.  I want gangs to stop killing our youth, and drug dealers to stop feeding the addiction of young mothers.  I am sick of it.  I say this now:   No One bothers to keeps the worthless down,  They only only Keep those who pose a threat down.  Hints:  We are THE threat.  We have the mind, we have the endurance, and we have the ability to adapt.  Now we need to use it, and take back our power, starting with our educations.

Follow me on twitter @Imadyson12  and Rsvp to My Fb event Black History:  Lets Make History

 

 

One Love,

 

Imani X

One Response to “Black History Month”

  1. Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.


Leave a Reply

