blackempowerment
empowering others and making people aware of wrongs

There Are no limits to my dreams and ambitions

There are no limits to my dreams and ambitions. I know that whenever I feel I can give the world something, it will give me something worth way more. Ghana has taught me to be warmer, more inviting, caring, and hardworking. People here tend to not complain. No matter how backbreaking the work is, they just do it and In America we don’t. People smile at everyone, and greet all. That’s something we miss. We get so competitive and busy that we forget the ones who make everyday pleasant for us.

Events:

Cape coast castle: Notorious slave castle in Ghana. Slave were held for us to 3 months before being sent through the doors of No return to head to the Americas.

Elmina St. George Castle: Slave castle in Ghana. I had the saddest most grave feeling while there as well as in Cape Coast castle. It gives a real appreciation of all the things you have rights too. How can you speak lowly of a slave when most of us are the evidence of them. They survived so that we could. Some fault for change and escaped to freedom so that one day we could. That’s love. How many of us would have endured that? Many would have just died.

Kakum national park: I loved it. It’s a forest. Quite the hike, and if you stay overnight you see sooo many animals. I loved the canopy rope bridges. It felt adventurous, especially because I am not the biggest fan of heights.

(I cant remember the name) but the place of the last bath. It was very surreal. We walked the pathway of some slaves barefoot like they would have until we reached the river where they were cleaned before they were sold to the castles. It was crazy because the bath we took was clear from other people walking through it but when Africans had to walk through there was no path.

Impact Project: We had a Impact project the second weekend we were here. We helped build the foundation of a school. OMG it was hard. I had to break up this hard red claylike dirt, pull up weeds, and trees ( actual tree roots), build bricks, move bricks out of the way and level out the dirt. I formed blisters on top of blisters that then popped. :/ It was nice though because you could see the progress. Also the appreciation of certain tools in America was formed.

My Project Site: I worked at Needed Life Foundation during my four weeks here. Needed Life is an organization that Teaches Ghanaian people about HIV/AIDS, while testing pregnant mothers, women, and the community as a whole. In the beginning, we did a lot of clinical work. It was hard when we would get an HIV positive mother but it was nice that we didn’t get many. The last two weeks we did more Outreach, so I got to go to different villages and teach to those who else wise wouldn’t have the information. We got to test people who didn’t have clinics in reach. I learned that many people in Ghana don’t really go to doctors when they are sick and almost everyone thinks that HIV/AIDS is a death sentence. We tried to teach people about compassion and acceptance of those who were found to be positive. It was rewarding and I loved getting to see small villages. We had maybe 6 positive results the entire time I was at my project, which is really great considering the amount of people I saw. People here don’t really use condoms much or birth control period, so every negative result was a blessing.

Elmina Chief festival: It was cool. Elmina is a town within Cape coast (kind of a county) All the chiefs dressed in this amazing tradition dress, and they were carried by their party in thrones all the way to town, which was a gooood walking distance.

Korye Dance Theater: We hung out with this dance theater a lot. They are really talented and two of the Mizzou Volunteers (Jordan and Antaniece) taught them english. Also a lot of them are considered Rastas so they were always in this area called Rasta Row, where we bought lots of art, jewelry and drums. Korye will be in America for about 3 months and When I say they can dance I mean it. They are natural artist and the Drummers are ultra talented as well. Love them and will miss them dearly. They are some real friends here.

Partying: We usually went to this tourist spot called Oasis, We would watch some dancing, drink at the bar, and maybe play on the beach. It was Chill and we saw all of are Rasta friends every weekend. We also went to some Bars near our home in Abura. Its cool that the drinking age is 18. People don’t understand how America can allow you to serve in the military, vote but not allow you to drink. You ‘d be surprised at how politically aware everyone is here.

Food: I hate Fou Fou, and Banku too. But I loved Red Red, Boiled casaba, Komtombe sauce, red sauce, etc. Boy I love the mix of Redred and Plantains .

Finally, I think its amazing how people who have so much less than us can be so happy, so curious, so diverse. Many know 2 and 3 languages and have barely been in school past level 2. I love how politically aware everyone is here. I love how they want to know more about other cultures and how welcoming they are. Its something we should learn to do. I hate the trash here, and I hope the government can fix the problem before it kills the natural and tropical beauty of Ghana. This place is friggn beautiful and so are the people in it. They believe we should all know our culture and they are very right in that. I will miss Ghana, and I hope one day I can come back. But I will not miss the crazy driving of the Taxi drivers. You should see the billboard with the Killed, and injured count due to car accidents. :/

Peace and Love,

Imand Adwowa
Sankofa (back to your roots)

No Responses to “There Are no limits to my dreams and ambitions”

Leave a Reply

